Japanese Car Exporter Fees: What's Hidden and What's Standard
Every year, buyers receive a final invoice that is substantially higher than the number they first saw on an exporter’s listing page. The gap is not usually fraud. Most of it is structural: the industry has settled on pricing conventions — chiefly FOB — that quote only part of the cost, and different exporters bundle or unbundle the remaining parts in different ways. This article maps those conventions using publicly available information from exporters, inspection agencies, and shipping industry sources collected in August 2026.
What this article is and is not. This is a neutral synthesis of publicly disclosed fee structures. It is not a quote. Prices move with exchange rates, fuel surcharges, and carrier capacity. Treat every figure here as orientation, not as a binding estimate. Always request an itemised proforma invoice before committing to a purchase.
The two-price problem: FOB vs. CIF
The single most common source of buyer confusion is the difference between FOB and CIF pricing — and comparing quotes that use one term against quotes that use the other without realising it.
FOB (Free on Board) means the seller’s price covers the vehicle up to and including loading onto the vessel at a Japanese export port (Yokohama, Nagoya, Osaka, Kobe, or Moji). Once the car is aboard the ship, the buyer is responsible for ocean freight, marine insurance, and everything that happens at the destination port.
CIF (Cost, Insurance, Freight) means the seller’s price covers ocean freight and marine insurance to the named destination port. Customs duty, destination port handling, and inland transport remain the buyer’s responsibility.
C&F / CFR (Cost and Freight) sits between the two: ocean freight is included but marine insurance is not.
To illustrate the scale of the difference: a typical mid-size SUV priced at approximately US$33,000–$34,000 FOB might add US$800–$1,200 in ocean freight plus US$200–$400 in pre-shipment inspection to arrive at a C&F figure, then a further 1–1.5% of C&F value in marine insurance to reach CIF. The vehicle price itself does not change — only which party bears each cost. (A specific worked example previously cited from wicarexport.com could not be verified against the live page during August 2026 fact-checking and has been removed.)
The practical implication: if one exporter quotes FOB and another quotes CIF to the same port, the CIF figure will almost always look higher for an equivalent vehicle, even if the underlying cost to the buyer is identical or even lower (because the exporter may have negotiated better freight rates than a buyer can independently).
Always ask: “Is this FOB or CIF? If FOB, what is your estimated freight to [my port]?”
What every Japan-side exporter charges
Regardless of which exporter you use, the following costs exist on the Japan side. They may be itemised separately or bundled into the quoted price — that bundling decision is where exporters differ most.
Vehicle acquisition cost
This is the hammer price if the vehicle came from a Japanese auction (USS, TAA, CAA, HAA, JAA, and others). It is the foundation of every FOB price.
Auction buyer’s premium
Auction houses charge buyers a fee on top of the hammer price. When a buyer goes through an export agent rather than directly to an auction, the agent also charges a service fee. Flat-fee agents (fetched from publicly disclosed fee schedules, August 2026) charge in the range of ¥70,000–¥90,000 per vehicle for auction sourcing, with percentage-based tiers added for higher-value cars:
- Provide Cars (providecars.co.jp, fetched August 2026): ¥80,000 flat for vehicles under ¥1 million; ¥80,000 + 2–3% for vehicles above ¥1 million (dealer plans); ¥90,000 + 5% for private buyers.
- Japan-Tradings.com (per published fee page): ¥80,000 flat auction agent fee, positioned as “no hidden cost.”
- Brave Auto International: a flat auction service fee in the ¥70,000 range, per search result summaries collected August 2026 — the company website was inaccessible for direct verification at time of fact-checking.
Large retail-facing exporters like BE FORWARD and SBT Japan bundle these costs into the listed vehicle price rather than disclosing them as a separate line. There is no industry-wide requirement to disclose the auction hammer price paid.
Inference, not data: the margin between what an exporter paid at auction and what they list on their website is not publicly disclosed by any major retailer. Buyers using a transparent auction agent can see the hammer price directly; buyers using a retail exporter cannot.
Domestic transport (auction yard to export port)
After the vehicle is purchased, it must be transported from the auction venue to the export port. This cost varies significantly depending on distance. Provide Cars (fetched August 2026) lists inland transport at ¥5,500–¥60,000 per vehicle depending on which auction yard the car came from.
Retail exporters typically bundle this cost into the FOB price without itemising it.
Export documentation and de-registration
Exporting a vehicle from Japan requires:
- Cancellation of vehicle registration (抹消登録) with the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (MLIT)
- Customs export declaration lodged with Japan Customs
- Certificate of Registration Deletion (輸出抹消仮登録証明書 or full cancellation) — this becomes the export certificate sent to the buyer
- Commercial invoice
- Bill of Lading (issued by the shipping line)
These fees, along with port handling charges, are typically described in export industry sources as bundling to US$200–$500 per vehicle when charged explicitly (wcshipping.com, fetched August 2026). Retail exporters commonly include these in the quoted FOB price rather than itemising them.
Provide Cars discloses that their base service plan includes “auction sheet translation, bidding fees, shipping booking, radiation exam, de-registration, export filing, 30-day storage, port photos, odometer guarantee, maintenance copies, agent support, and standard documentation” — all bundled with no separate line items.
Container handling / vanning fee
If the vehicle is shipped in a container rather than RoRo, a vanning charge applies for loading and securing the car inside the container. Provide Cars (fetched August 2026) lists this at ¥32,000 per vehicle. RoRo shipments do not incur this charge.
Port storage
Most exporters provide a grace period of 30 days free storage at the port yard. Provide Cars lists storage beyond 30 days at ¥500 per day per vehicle. Buyers who delay payment after purchasing can trigger this fee.
Radiation inspection
Following the 2011 Fukushima nuclear accident, Japan’s export industry adopted routine radiation screening of vehicles. This is typically included in the service bundle by all major exporters and is not charged as a visible separate item.
What varies by exporter: the key differences
| Fee item | Retail exporters (BE FORWARD, SBT, etc.) | Auction agents (Provide Cars, Japan-Tradings, etc.) |
|---|---|---|
| Auction hammer price visibility | Not disclosed | Disclosed to buyer |
| Agent fee | Bundled into listed price | Explicit (¥70,000–¥90,000+) |
| Documentation fees | Typically bundled | Typically bundled |
| Inland transport | Bundled | Itemised (¥5,500–¥60,000) |
| Vanning/THC | Sometimes itemised | Itemised (¥32,000 for container) |
| Storage (after grace period) | Varies by exporter | ¥500/day (Provide Cars) |
| Payment processing surcharge | Varies — check the proforma | Varies |
Credit card / wire transfer fees: BE FORWARD’s payment support page (fetched August 2026) states that credit card and PayPal payments carry no handling fee from BE FORWARD’s side. Bank wire transfers typically carry bank-to-bank fees set by the buyer’s bank, not the exporter, though some exporters pass on a processing charge. Always confirm in writing.
Currency exchange markup: Some agents apply a spread on top of the interbank exchange rate when converting your currency to yen. BE FORWARD’s local-currency payment options (GYD, MWK, and others) explicitly state “no remittance fee nor markup fee” — implying that unmarked rates elsewhere may include a spread. Ask what exchange rate is used on the invoice date.
Inspection costs: mandatory vs. optional
Pre-shipment inspection is not universally required — it depends on the destination country. Where it is required, the cost is typically US$200–$300 or ¥22,000–¥30,000 per vehicle.
The main inspection agencies operating from Japanese ports (data from cardeal365.com and jevic.com, fetched August 2026):
| Agency | Fee range (JPY) | Turnaround | Primary required destinations |
|---|---|---|---|
| JEVIC (Japan Export Vehicle Inspection Center) | ¥22,000–¥28,000 | 2–3 days | Kenya, Tanzania, Caribbean, Pacific nations, Zambia |
| QISJ | ¥24,000–¥30,000 | 2–4 days | Kenya, Uganda, Jamaica |
| EAA (East Africa Automobile) | ¥23,000–¥28,000 | 1–3 days | Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia |
| JAAI (Japan Automobile Appraisal Institute) | ¥20,000–¥25,000 | 3–5 days | Sri Lanka, Mauritius |
Data limitation: JEVIC’s own website (jevic.com, fetched August 2026) does not publish a fee schedule — the figures above are drawn from third-party industry sources (cardeal365.com, picknbuy24.com). Confirm directly with JEVIC or your exporter before budgeting.
The JEVIC figure of approximately ¥25,000 (≈ US$175 at ¥145/$) is also cited by japanesecartrade.com. A penalty of 15% of CIF value is reportedly levied by some destination authorities on vehicles arriving without the required certificate (picknbuy24.com, fetched August 2026) — making skipping the inspection extremely costly if your country mandates it.
For countries that do not mandate a specific agency certificate, inspection is optional. Buyers importing to the United States, UK, Australia, or New Zealand typically do not require a JEVIC/QISJ/EAA certificate, though they may request a condition inspection separately.
Re-inspection: cardeal365.com notes that vehicles that fail inspection within a 14-day window incur a reduced re-inspection fee of approximately ¥5,000–¥8,000 for only the failed items. Missing this window requires a full re-inspection at standard rates.
Ocean freight: destination cost guide
Ocean freight is either included (CIF/CNF) or excluded (FOB) from the exporter’s quoted price. The following estimates are drawn from industry sources (wcshipping.com, rao-international.com, japan-partner.com, and freight-calculator.com), fetched August 2026. All are indicative; actual rates vary with fuel surcharges (Bunker Adjustment Factor, which can shift rates by 15–30%), carrier capacity, and vessel schedules.
RoRo vs. container: RoRo (vehicle drives onto a purpose-built car carrier) is typically the cheaper option for a single vehicle. Container shipping costs more per car but provides weather protection and is the only option where destination ports lack RoRo facilities.
| Route (from Japan) | RoRo estimate | Container (20ft, single car) |
|---|---|---|
| Japan → US West Coast | US$800–$1,400 | US$1,500–$2,800 |
| Japan → US East Coast (via Panama) | ~US$3,050 | Higher |
| Japan → UK | US$1,200–$2,500 | US$2,000–$4,000 |
| Japan → Australia | US$1,200–$2,500 | US$2,500–$4,500 |
| Japan → New Zealand | US$1,400–$2,800 | US$2,800–$5,000 |
| Japan → South Africa (Durban) | ~US$70/m³ (≈US$560–840 for a sedan) | US$1,500–$3,000 |
| Japan → East Africa (Mombasa/Dar es Salaam) | US$800–$1,600 | US$2,000–$3,500 |
Fuel surcharge: Pacific routes typically add US$300–$500 in fuel surcharges on top of the base freight rate (wcshipping.com, fetched August 2026).
Marine insurance: where not included in CIF, marine insurance typically runs approximately 1.1–1.5% of the vehicle value, with a minimum charge. Provide Cars lists a minimum of ¥5,000 or 0.5% of the CIF value, whichever is higher.
Consumption tax: what it means for buyers
Japan levies a 10% consumption tax (消費税) on domestic goods and services. Exports are zero-rated — the vehicle is not subject to consumption tax when it leaves Japan.
The practical question buyers face is: is consumption tax included in the exporter’s price?
The mechanism works as follows. The exporter pays consumption tax when acquiring a vehicle domestically (at auction or from a dealer). Because the vehicle is exported — not consumed in Japan — the exporter is legally entitled to claim back that tax through their quarterly or annual consumption tax return. The tax authority refunds it to the exporter.
What this means for buyers: a correctly structured export sale should not include Japanese consumption tax in the price charged to the overseas buyer, because the exporter can reclaim it. Provide Cars (fetched August 2026) explicitly states “No consumption tax charged for international buyers.” If an exporter charges consumption tax and does not refund it, they are keeping a rebate they receive from the Japanese government — a grey area worth asking about explicitly.
The recycling fee: separately from consumption tax, Japan’s end-of-life vehicle recycling system collects a deposit (リサイクル預託金) when a car is first registered. This deposit travels with the car through subsequent ownership changes. When a vehicle is exported, the current holder of the deposit can claim a refund. The deposit amount varies by vehicle but is typically ¥10,000–¥20,000 depending on weight, number of airbags, and other factors (accessj.com, fetched August 2026). Some exporters pass this refund to the buyer; others retain it. Ask before purchase.
Destination-side costs: your country’s responsibility
The buyer is always responsible for what happens after the car arrives at the destination port. These costs are not set by the Japanese exporter and cannot be negotiated with them — but they are frequently the largest single line item after the vehicle price itself.
Typical destination-side costs:
- Import duty: ranges from 0% (Australia, New Zealand under free trade agreements with Japan; US for 25-year-old vehicles) to 40–60%+ in some African markets. The US imposes a base 2.5% duty on passenger cars, plus a 25% Section 232 tariff for non-exempt countries in 2026 (wcshipping.com, fetched August 2026).
- Value-added tax / GST: typically 10–25% applied to CIF value or CIF + duty, depending on country.
- Destination port handling: terminal handling charges, typically US$100–$400.
- Customs broker fee: varies widely; typically US$100–$300 in developed markets.
- Compliance modification: for markets with right-hand-drive requirements, emissions standards, or specific lighting regulations, vehicles may need modifications after arrival. In the US, non-25-year vehicles face EPA and DOT compliance costs estimated at US$10,600–$30,000 (wcshipping.com, fetched August 2026).
- Quarantine / biosecurity inspection: Australia and New Zealand require biosecurity inspections that can add US$200–$400, plus cleaning costs if the vehicle fails the initial inspection.
Mozambique is an extreme example: import duties there can reach 84% of CIF value plus approximately US$650 in port fees (Wikipedia, Japanese used vehicle exporting article, fetched August 2026).
How to read a quote: a checklist
Before accepting any proforma invoice, confirm the following in writing:
- Is the price FOB or CIF? If FOB, request a CIF figure to your specific destination port.
- What is included in the FOB price? Ask specifically: auction fee, domestic transport, documentation, port handling, vanning/container loading.
- Is pre-shipment inspection included? Which agency? Is it mandatory for your country?
- Is consumption tax charged? If so, why? (Export sales should be zero-rated.)
- What is the exchange rate applied? Is there a markup over the interbank rate?
- Are there payment method surcharges? Credit card, PayPal, bank wire — confirm each.
- What is the storage grace period? What is the daily charge beyond it?
- Is the recycling fee refund passed to the buyer?
- What freight rate is quoted? Does it include the Bunker Adjustment Factor (fuel surcharge)?
- What is the marine insurance rate? Is there a minimum charge?
For comparison across exporters, the most useful document to request is an “all-in” cost to destination — a single number covering everything from the vehicle acquisition through to the car sitting at your destination port, before your country’s customs clearance begins.
Limitations of this article
Prices change. The fee figures cited here reflect publicly available information collected in August 2026. Ocean freight rates fluctuate monthly. Exchange rates move daily. Inspection agency fees are not publicly listed by the agencies themselves (JEVIC, QISJ, EAA do not publish tariffs on their websites as of August 2026) — the ranges above are drawn from third-party sources.
Retail exporter fee bundling is opaque by design. Major exporters (BE FORWARD, SBT Japan, Car From Japan, and others) do not publish itemised fee schedules for each cost component. This article cannot tell you what any specific exporter charges for documentation or handling — only what the industry categories are and what transparent auction agents have disclosed.
This covers Japan-side fees only. Destination-country taxes, duties, compliance costs, and broker fees are set by governments and local service providers, not by Japanese exporters. Those figures are not systematically covered here; always consult a licensed customs broker in your destination country.
No relationship with any exporter. This article has no commercial relationship with any company mentioned. For an independent comparison of major retail exporters, see BE FORWARD vs SBT Japan.
Method and sources
Information was collected via direct web fetch and search in August 2026. The following sources were accessed:
- Provide Cars fee schedule (providecars.co.jp/bank-info/service-and-commission/) — fetched August 2026. Provides the most granular publicly available breakdown of auction agent fees, including plan tiers, vanning charges, inland transport ranges, and storage rates.
- JEVIC website (jevic.com/en/vehicleinspection/) — fetched August 2026. Confirms service offering; does not publish fee schedule.
- cardeal365.com pre-shipment inspection guide — fetched August 2026. Source for the four-agency fee comparison table.
- Provide Cars FOB/CIF explainer (providecars.co.jp/bank-info/fob-cif) — fetched August 2026.
- wicarexport.com — fetched August 2026. Referenced for FOB/C&F/CIF terminology; a specific vehicle worked example previously attributed to this source could not be verified against the live page and was removed from the article.
- BE FORWARD payment support page (beforward.jp/support/payment) — fetched August 2026. Confirms no payment processing surcharge for card/PayPal.
- BE FORWARD blog: total landed cost (blog.beforward.jp/car-talk/total-landed-cost-used-car-import.html) — fetched August 2026.
- wcshipping.com Japan import cost guide — fetched August 2026. Source for US-route freight estimates and compliance cost ranges.
- dayonetax.com: consumption tax on exports — fetched August 2026. Source for consumption tax mechanism.
- Japan Customs FAQ 5502 (customs.go.jp/english/c-answer_e/extsukan/5502_e.htm) — official source for export de-registration requirement.
- picknbuy24.com FAQ: JEVIC countries and penalty — fetched August 2026.
- accessj.com: recycling fee structure — fetched August 2026.
- Wikipedia: Japanese used vehicle exporting — fetched August 2026. Source for Mozambique duty example.
- Japan-Tradings.com and Brave Auto International fee pages — retrieved via search results, August 2026.
N: 14 primary sources accessed. All figures are reported as collected; no figures have been independently verified against original invoices. Rates from third-party sources are cited as ranges, not guarantees.
For an independent comparison of how major exporters handle complaints and disputes, see BE FORWARD vs SBT Japan. To understand how Japanese auction prices are structured before the exporter margin, see Researching Japanese Auction Prices.